'When ya pull a gun, kill a man.' -Old Man Clanton

Blogs

Personalpersonal RSS
My 23AndMe Results
Wed, Sep 20, 2017 - (Edited) Sat, Sep 30, 2017
My results from 23AndMe's genetic testing. I found that I have great, healthy genes with no carriers... (Ladies.) As well as a few insightful characteristics.
Unlimited Plans Aren't Worth It
Sun, Sep 10, 2017 - (Edited) Sun, Sep 10, 2017
Expensive unlimited plans cause network congestion. It's time to cut the dependency on cellular data.
I'm Writing a Book (Maybe)
Sun, Aug 27, 2017 - (Edited) Sun, Aug 27, 2017
Some recent research into keyword cannibalization got me to realize that I've written enough content for a book.
Writing Is Supposed to Be Personal
Sat, Feb 18, 2017 - (Edited) Sat, Feb 18, 2017
I used to be good at writing. That was before I tried to be good at writing.
Maybe It's Not The Soylent
Fri, Oct 28, 2016 - (Edited) Mon, Oct 31, 2016
Soylent has pulled two products from it's store over illness complaints. I think they should have kept selling and refused to publicly respond.
Codecode RSS
Using Nested FlexBoxes to Create Tables
Sun, Sep 17, 2017 - (Edited) Sun, Sep 17, 2017
Instead of using unordered lists, I've opted to use CSS flexboxes to create tables on my homepage. This has helped to keep table sizes universal.
Example of a (FAST!) Terrible Webpage
Tue, Dec 22, 2015 - (Edited) Mon, Oct 17, 2016
A proof of concept that even the most loaded down site can be fast.
How to Display Random Text
Tue, Jun 30, 2015 - (Edited) Tue, Jun 30, 2015
Use JavaScript to display random text from a list of possible options and reload it if needed.
How to Add Footnotes to Your Website
Fri, Jun 05, 2015 - (Edited) Thu, Oct 20, 2016
Adding easily maintainable and formatted footnotes to your website for citations.
Conditionally Load Javascript and CSS
Tue, Apr 14, 2015 - (Edited) Thu, Oct 13, 2016
How to conditionally load JavaScript and CSS to improve your websites pagespeed easily.
Politicspolitics RSS
5 Ways to Win Any Argument
Sat, Sep 16, 2017 - (Edited) Sat, Sep 16, 2017
Charisma on Command gives 5 ways to win any argument. Start by asking yourself what you want and what they want? Make an effort to understand their position...
The Third-Person Effect
Sat, Sep 16, 2017 - (Edited) Sat, Sep 16, 2017
We never expect propaganda to have an effect on us. But we expect it to have an effect on others. That's the third-person effect and it's important to know.
Student Loans Should Be Forgiven
Sat, Sep 16, 2017 - (Edited) Sat, Sep 16, 2017
Universities are running a scam. Making promises and consistently failing to deliver. They lie and cheat to get money out of students, crippling them for life.
Skeptics on Hurricanes
Wed, Sep 13, 2017 - (Edited) Fri, Sep 15, 2017
Skeptics have an issue, they're not very skeptical. When given a link that they think they disagree with, instead of reading, they respond in a flurry.
Is Bitcoin a Failure?
Sun, Sep 10, 2017 - (Edited) Sun, Sep 10, 2017
Russo's glaring point remains, Bitcoin has created a class hierarchy divided by computational power. The cryptocurrency as is can not deliver on its promises.
Marketingmarketing RSS
Tips From John Mueller 9/8/17
Sat, Sep 09, 2017 - (Edited) Sat, Sep 09, 2017
Tips from John Mueller from the September 8, 2017 Google Webmasters Office Hours.
Moderating Harassment and Abuse
Fri, Sep 01, 2017 - (Edited) Fri, Sep 01, 2017
Disqus is releasing a new feature to help combat harassment and abuse. It could be a good tool for moderators.
Chrome to Allow You to Mute Domains
Sun, Aug 27, 2017 - (Edited) Sun, Aug 27, 2017
Chrome will be adding a new feature that allows you to permanently block a domains audio.
Google to Offer Free and Premium AdBlocking?
Fri, Apr 21, 2017 - (Edited) Fri, Apr 21, 2017
With the new Google Contributor on the way, and talk of a built in adblocker for Chrome, can these two be connected?
How To Load Any Page in Half a Second
Tue, Dec 22, 2015 - (Edited) Thu, Oct 13, 2016
The internet is freaking fast. So why are websites so unbearably slow? It's an easy fix.